With the new year comes a wonderful new law; the state’s first abortion ban commenced on New Years Day. HB 2, or the Fetal Life Protection Act, restricts abortions after 24 weeks gestation with some exceptions. Most babies after 24 weeks can survive outside the womb, so legislators added a law to protect their lives.
Jason Hennessey, NHRTL’s president, discussed the new law and its impact on New Hampshire’s preborn children on multiple news stations. On WMUR, he debated Kayla Montgomery from Planned Parenthood and mentioned that the new law would require an abdominal (“jelly-on-the-belly”) ultrasound and not a transvaginal one. Live Action, WGBH, and Boston 25 News also reported on the new legislation, and Hennessey shared that laws to protect preborn children are necessary.
For the act to effectively save lives, legislators added an ultrasound requirement to track gestational age. Physicians would need to perform an ultrasound only if there is a chance that the baby is over 24 weeks, but not before. NH Cornerstone tackled the lies and myths surrounding the new law here. Because New Hampshire lived under 4 decades of extreme abortion access, the state finally needed common-sense restrictions.
Unfortunately, pro-abortion advocates will not cease to ruin the new act. With bills introduced to remove the ultrasound requirement, pro-life advocates must stand up. To learn more on how to protect FLPA, click here.